Four meet records tumble at Indian Open Throws Competition « Athletics Federation of India



Three meet records tumbled at the one-day third edition of the Indian Open Throws Competition conducted at Patiala’s National Institute of Sports (NIS).

Maharashtra’s Abha Khatua improved her own meet mark of 17.09m on her way to winning shot put gold with a throw of 17.56m.

The national record of 18.06m is in the name of Manpreet Kaur set in 2022.

Haryana’s Nirbhay Singh also improved the previous meet record in the men’s discus throw. His gold medal winning throw of 54.89m was better than the previous record of 53.28 set in 2022 by Arjun.

Home favourite Damneet Singh too won gold medal with a meet record in the hammer throw. His best efforts on Friday were 65.82m which was better than the previous mark of 54.80m set in 2022 by Mahipal Singh Yadav.

Odisha’s Vikrant Malik wins javelin gold with a throw of 81.68m and improves meet record. The previous record of 78.93m was set by Kishore Kumar in 2023.


Men: Hammer throw: Damneet Singh (Punjab) 65.82m (previous Mahipal Singh Yadav 54.80m in 2022), Gurdev Singh (Punjab) 61.87m, Mukul (Uttar Pradesh) 61.61m.

U20: Hammer throw: Prateek (Haryana) 62.75m, Harshit Kumar (Uttar Pradesh) 59.93m, Aryan (Rajasthan) 54.34m

U20: Javelin throw: Dipanshu Sharma (Uttar Pradesh) 71.21m, Rohan Yadav (Uttar Pradesh) 69.00m, Himanshu Mishra (Madhya Pradesh) 67.02m.

Discus throw: Nirbhay Singh (Haryana) 54.89m, Oinam Alson Singh (Manipur) 53.78m, Gagandeep Singh (Punjab) 52.49m.

U20: Shot put: Anurag Singh Kaler (Uttar Pradesh) 19.16m, Siddharth Choudhary (Rajasthan) 18.44m, Jaidev Dikka (Delhi) 18.36m.

Men shot put: Tajinderpal Singh Toor (Punjab) 19.82m, Dhanveer Singh (Punjab) 18.74m, Prabhkirpal Singh (Punjab) 18.04m


Javelin throw: Jyoti (Haryana) 51.55m, Karishma S Sanil (Karnataka) 51.02m, KM Saloni (Uttar Pradesh) 50.21m.

U20: Javelin throw: Deepika (Haryana) 49.75m, Ramyashree Jain (Karnataka) 46.37m, Aakriti Tyagi (Delhi) 46.24m.

Discus throw: Nidhi Rani (Haryana) 53.57m, Neetika Verma (Uttar Pradesh) 51.52m, Bhavana Yadav (Delhi) 50.63m.

Shot put:  Abha Khatua (Maharashtra) 17.56m (previous mark 17.09m), Rekha (Haryana) 14.98m, Shiksha (Haryana) 14.54m.

U20: Shot put: Women: Pooja Kumari (Rajasthan) 14.10m, Jaskanwal Kaur (Punjab) 13.40m, Jashandeep Kaur (Punjab)12.14m.

#meet #records #tumble #Indian #Open #Throws #Competition #Athletics #Federation #India